The Congress of Local and Regional Authorities is an institution of the Council of Europe, responsible for strengthening local and regional democracy in its 47 member states. It brings together 648 elected officials representing more than 200 000 local and regional authorities and divided among several political groups.


The Socialist Group (SOC) comprises 207 members. It is chaired by Piero Fassino (Italy) and Yoomi Renström (Sweden).